Various Reactions to Intermittent Fasting (Based on 3 Years of Experience)

Image

“You’re not eating?”

I dread this question, inevitable on the many long days I spend on sets. I don’t dread it because I’m hungry or even want to eat ( I don’t), but rather because I know I’ll have to “explain myself,” and convince interrogators of the following:

1. I do indeed eat
2. I eat ALOT when I do eat
3. No, I’m not hungry
4. I do not expereince negative side effects
5. I’ve been doing it for x amount of time. (This is usually what “sells it.” I’ve been IF’ing for 3 years. When I say that, people often say “oh” and stop asking questions. 3 years is a long time).

In my three years, I’ve noticed trends in the varying responses to the idea of intermittent fasting. Identifying the type of “questioner” helps to appropriately handle the “situation.”

THE ATTACKER
The Attacker becomes personally invested in a vendetta against you. I don’t understand this response, as the Faster isn’t intruding on the Attacker, but nevertheless. The Attacker will berate you with reasons that 1. Your metabolism will shut down. 2. You are not healthy. 3. You will die. It is best to just respond calmly with something like “ok,” and then cease conversation or change the subject.

THE CURIOUS
The Curious is fascinated by your method of eating. He or she will ask you question after question. (What do you eat? When? Aren’t you hungry? Why? etc.) The Curious is tolerable, assuming you are in a conversational mood.

THE SCEPTIC
The Sceptic is highly doubtful of your logic, assuming the “questioning”
mode of The Curious with a tinge of the hostility of the Attacker. The Sceptic will likely dismiss you as crazy at the end of said conversation; possibly dismiss the subject as a “personal choice” which may work; or, rarely, consider researching the topic a bit more.

THE FASCINATED
The Fascinated has just experienced a #mindblown moment, and is potentially open to joining the bandwagon. He or she also assumes the “questioning” mode of the Curious and Sceptic, yet with a warm and likely supportive enthusiasm.

THE ACCEPTER
The Accepter is great. He or she simply says “ok” and shrugs when you delineate your eating plan. I love the Accepter. We need more Accepters in this world.

© 2014 Melanie Avalon

About MelanieAvalon

Melanie Avalon is a SAG-AFTRA actress, and author of What When Wine: Effortless Weight Loss - Paleo-Style Meals, Intermittent Fasting, And Wine. Born and rasied in the South and now living in Los Angeles, Melanie Avalon (http://www.imdb.me/melanieavalon) is an accomplished USC graduate (Summa Cum Laude) with extensive experience in Acting (Theatre and Film), Film Production and Development. She currently works full time acting, audiobook recording, blowing (PaleoActress.com), and vloging (youtube.com/c/melanieavalon). An "old soul," she's known for her vibrant, energetic, optimistic, magical nature. Motto: Live vicariously through yourself!
This entry was posted in Intermittent Fasting (IF) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment